The 80s are over, and Van Halen’s “Hot for Teacher” was just a song. Regardless of how “hot” both parties may be for each other, there’s nothing lukewarm about age of consent laws in New Jersey. Regardless of whether there is mutual attraction, New Jersey law prohibits sexual involvement between a teacher and a minor student. A teacher is always responsible for maintaining safe and appropriate boundaries in and out of the classroom.
Nevertheless, one 32-year-old Parsippany Hills teacher may not have received the memo. After allegedly exchanging randy text messages with a 16-year-old male student in late Jan. 2013, the two reportedly started sharing explicit pictures. They were soon allegedly spotted kissing and engaging in sexual contact both on and off the school grounds until another student informed school staff. According to Morris County’s assistant prosecutor, the pair admitted to a relationship in a statement obtained by investigators.
The woman, a former Morristown resident with a six-year history at the school, is a tenured English teacher as well as a field hockey coach. She was indicted Feb. 25 on various counts, including endangering the welfare of a child, official misconduct, criminal sexual contact and second-degree sexual assault. Her bail conditions specify that she is prohibited from contact with anyone under 18 years of age.
Facing sex crime charges can be humiliating and scary, regardless of any relationship between the victim and defendant. A criminal defense attorney can guide a defendant through the legal process, represent his or her side of the story and help ensure that the defendant’s legal rights are protected.