What Are the Consequences of New Jersey Underage DUI

Due to strenuous campaigning and lobbying by special interest groups, the penalties for drunk driving is quite tough in New Jersey. The goal has been to reduce the numbers of injuries and deaths where a drunk driver is involved.

The legal limit for driving in New Jersey is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent, the same as in all other states. Any adult who drives with a BAC of this amount or higher faces a DUI charge, if the situation comes to the attention of law enforcement. However, people younger than 21 face a lower limit than 0.08 percent.

A person younger than 21 whose BAC is measured at 0.01 percent or higher may be arrested on suspicion of underage DUI. If an underage person is convicted of DUI, the penalties they face include a license suspension for 30 to 90 days. Depending on the situation, they may also face mandatory DUI fines and penalties.

Furthermore, underage drivers convicted of DUI could be sentenced to 15 to 30 days of mandatory community service. They also may be required to participate in highway safety and alcohol education programs at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Not only must those convicted pay any ordered fines and fees, they may also have to pay hundreds of dollars in fees associated with the programs at the resource center.

Young people may find that a conviction on charges of underage drunk driving is not helpful when seeking employment and educational opportunities. New Jersey defense attorneys can answer questions and provide guidance to people with concerns.

Related Posts
  • Two People Charged with DWI after Crashes in New Jersey Read More
  • Judge Rules That past DWIs Cannot Be Considered in Future Reckless Accidents Read More
  • Preventing Party Guests From Driving Drunk Read More