One of the big news items of the past few years has been the relaxing of state marijuana laws in some parts of the country. Some states have legalized pot, and many others have ratcheted back enforcement of marijuana laws. This blog post briefly discusses the laws of New Jersey regarding marijuana.
The Garden State allows the use of marijuana for medical purposes. Under New Jersey law, a person can possess up to two ounces of cannabis per month with the recommendation of a doctor. If a person does not have a doctor’s recommendation, however, they face serious consequences if police and prosecutors allege marijuana possession.
A person who is accused of possession of less than 50 grams of pot could be charged with a disorderly person offense and face a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail. If the possession is alleged to have happened within 1,000 feet of a school, they could be sentenced to 100 hours of community service and a bigger fine if convicted. A defendant accused of possessing 50 grams or more of marijuana could be charged with a felony. They could be sentenced to 18 months in jail and a fine of $25,000 if convicted.
If a person is accused of selling marijuana, the possible penalties depend on the amount of pot alleged to have been sold. If a defendant is convicted of the sale of less than one ounce of marijuana, they face a fine of $25,000 and 18 months in jail. At the other extreme, if a person is accused of selling 25 pounds or more of marijuana, they could get 10 to 20 years in prison and a $300,000 fine if convicted.
Despite the trend away from a zero-tolerance policy toward marijuana, the repercussions of a drug offenses conviction can negatively affect the life of a New Jersey resident. Putting up a stout defense to drug charges may be a good decision.