People in Morris County, New Jersey, have probably heard that the use of heroin has increased in recent years. Consequently, police and prosecutors are on the lookout for any possible violations of laws against the possession, sale and trafficking of heroin. Knowledge of New Jersey’s heroin laws could prove to be useful, if you or a loved one fall under suspicion.
Extremely tough sentences await those convicted of being a leader of a narcotics trafficking network. People found guilty of this offense face a sentence of 25 years to life in a New Jersey prison and a fine of half a million dollars.
Where one sells heroin can affect the punishment. A person convicted of selling heroin within 1,000 feet of a school faces a fine of up to $100,000 and a term in prison.
Sentences are also stiff for those convicted of selling heroin nowhere near a school. Those found guilty of selling half an ounce or less of heroin could be fined up to $75,000 and face three to five years behind bars.
Those found guilty of selling more than half an ounce, but no more than five ounces, face five to 10 years in prison. Further, those found guilty of selling more than five ounces face a fine of $300,000 and 10 to 20 years in prison.
This quick summary of heroin laws in New Jersey should show that there are serious consequences to a drug crime conviction in the Garden State. Serious charges merit a serious defense mounted by the accused.