Theft Crimes Lawyer In Morristown, NJ
Understand Your Legal Options If You Face Theft Charges In Morris County Or Beyond
Theft charges can result in serious penalties and fines, including jail time (see N.J.S.A. 2C:20-1 et seq. and 2C:20-11, et seq.). Whether you are under investigation for a misdemeanor (disorderly persons offense), an indictable felony, or a federal offense, it is critical that you consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney who has the resources, skills, and strategy to effectively challenge your case. James M. Porfido is a criminal defense attorney and Certified Criminal Trial Attorney, as Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey, dedicated to the aggressive representation of clients facing theft and shoplifting charges.
Morris County, NJ Theft Crimes Defense Lawyer
The government is building a case against you even before you are charged. Take the necessary steps to protect your rights and defeat the charges against you. Contact James M. Porfido for an initial consultation and case evaluation.
Assembling Evidence For Your Defense Against Theft Charges In Morristown, NJ
Theft, embezzlement, fraud, and shoplifting cases are highly fact specific and require an intensive investigation. We will immediately begin collecting necessary evidence for your defense. We will consult with witnesses, review police reports, and take every necessary action to preserve evidence to build your defense.
Examples Of Theft Crimes In Morris County, New Jersey
We are experienced in criminal theft cases involving:
- Petty theft
- Ponzi schemes
- Bad checks
- Identity theft, ID theft, theft by deception
Consequences Of A Theft Crime Conviction In New Jersey
The penalties for theft depend on the value of the items stolen and other factors. For example:
- If the value of the items was under $200, you could be convicted of a disorderly persons offense (similar to a misdemeanor) and face jail time of up to six months and a fine of $1000.
- If the value of the items was between $200 and $500, you could be convicted of a fourth degree felony offense and face up to 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
- If the value of the items was between $500 and $75,000, you could be convicted of a third degree offense and go to prison for three to five years and face a fine of $10,000.
- If the value of the items was over $75,000, you could be convicted of a second degree felony charge and face 5-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
- Other variables can influence the penalties. For example, the theft of an automobile of any value is a third degree felony. Even if the car was worth only $499, it would still be considered a third degree felony.
Contact A Morris County Theft Crimes Defense Attorney Today!
If authorities are investigating you for any level of theft crime, you need strategic and aggressive defense. Many cases involve shopping mall theft, petty theft, or stealing involve juvenile defendants. If your child is facing charges for stealing, we can aggressively protect their legal rights and their future. We are also experienced in wrongful detention cases involving the holding of a juvenile or adult suspect. For more information about our services and experience, please call us or fill out our online contact form.
Credit cards accepted • Payment plans available • Se habla español